Skip to Content

National Office Staff

The national NHD office is located on Knox Road just off-campus of the University of Maryland in College Park.

Cathy Gorn, Ph.D. - Bio
Executive Director

Kim Fortney - Bio
Deputy Director
E-mail Kim

Lorena Torres
Finance Manager
E-mail Lorena

Lynne O'Hara
Director of Programs
E-mail Lynne

Erikka Washington
Office and Events Manager
E-mail Erikka

Adrienne Harkness
Contest Manager
E-mail Adrienne

Elaine Koontz
IT Manager
E-mail Elaine

Board of Trustees

Linda Becker

David Behring
Wheel Foundation

Thomas Downs
Venable LLP

Lynn Fontana
Sylvan Learning

Noralee Frankel

Jon Gillum
Locke Lord LLP

Steven Goldberg
SunTrust Investment Services, Inc.

James F. Harris
University of Maryland

Julian Hipkins, III
Teaching for Change

Gail Leftwich Kitch
The Voter Participation Center

Celie Neihaus

Libby O'Connell

Christine Ortega
Southwest Airlines

Robert G. Perry
National Trust for the Humanities

Richard T. Prasse
Hahn, Loeser and Parks

Pat Ramsey
University of Arkansas

Joseph Suarez
Booz Allen Hamilton

Mark Vessey
State Capital Museum/Outreach Center

Eric Weider
Weider History Group

Jerry Whitfield

Lyric Winik

Advisory Council

Molly Berger
Case Western Reserve University

Beth Boland
National Park Service

Wendy Eagan
World History Association

Noralee Frankel

Susan Griffin
National Council for the Social Studies

Carol Harsh
SITES-Smithsonian Institution

Justin Jakovac
National Council for History Education

Esther Mackintosh
Federation of State Humanities Councils

Maria Marable-Bunch
National Archives & Records Administration

Elisabeth M. Marsh, PhD
Organization of American Historians

Lee Ann Potter
Library of Congress

Amy Riegelman
Librarian of Government Information, Psychology, and Child Development

Dana Schaefer
American Historical Association

Philip M. Soergel
University of Maryland